I have great plans for handiness and craftiness today.

Handiness:

  • The hot water handle is leaking in our shower. After some judicious time with Google, I believe this is something I can fix. (One of my mottoes in life is, “How hard can it be?!”) I went to Home Depot to get what I needed and talked to Joe in the Plumbing Dept who was remarkably helpful. I was trying to figure out which size valve wrench I needed (see how I sound like I know what I’m doing?) and he recommended I get the set that has all sizes in it. It was $23 and I objected to that since I only needed one. Much to my surprise he told me to just save my receipt and “rent” it for $23. Huh? When I asked if he was really telling me to do that, he asked me how my portfolio did last year. I snorted (or something equally ladylike) and he said yes. So I did.
  • The light is out over my stove. It’s part of the microwave that is over the stove, so hopefully that will be an easy fix.

Craftiness

  • I have needed some flour canisters for a while and although I looked at these, I balked at $16.95 and besides – they just look so…. food service. Then yesterday at Walmart I found some glass canisters with screw on metal lids for $5 each. I’m going to fancy them up and put them into service!
  • I found some four inch square picture frames at the Target Dollar Spot  a while ago. They were three to a package so I bought 3, for a total of nine frames. They are plain pine so I am going to fancy them up and put them into service today too!

So – now I’m off to play. If I don’t flood the house or short out the electricity, I will report back on my progress!

