It was a cold weekend here, and while I don’t mind winter, I’m looking forward to Spring. This is the first time in years that I have had a place to garden to my heart’s content and I’m eager. I ordered a pile of gardening catalogs and can’t think of a better way to spend a cold evening than to flip through catalogs and dream.

Until I can actually get my fingers in the dirt outside, I decided to play in the dirt inside this weekend. Well, not dirt exactly, but stay with me. I had several boxes of flower bulbs that I got for a dollar a box because they were damaged cartons. So I gathered up the clear vases I had and decided to force some bulbs inside, just to keep the dream of Spring alive.

Forcing bulbs for Spring

I took the kids on a field trip to the local park where we collected rocks to fill the vases. (Nevermind it was about 20 degrees on Saturday. We had tissues for the cold runny noses.)

Why, yes, we are cold!

We took the rocks home and filled the vases halfway, then arranged the bulbs and added more rocks. I had enough bulbs that I turned my fruit bowl into a bulb bowl and used the compressed soil that comes with the bulbs to fill that up too. A little warm water and a sunny window, and hopefully we’ll be enjoying fresh flowers in a few weeks!

Bowl of amaryllis and paperwhite

