I’m not one for new year’s resolutions – I’d rather just set goals and work on them anytime it seems appropriate. However, in considering the past year and the coming year, I am amazed at where we are and the road we are on. We have been blessed to come on as the pastor at our church and it’s taken some time to recover from some very tough years financially, but we are in a good place right now and I want to make sure I stay content and thankful.

I am starting a spending fast. Everyone has enough clothes, my house is fine the way it is, and I have more than enough books to read with a library right down the road. Time for a little discipline of delayed gratification and doing without. I made another page to track it, figuring public accountability is a good thing. We’ll see how long I last, but right now I’m planning on the rest of January.

