Today is our sixteeth wedding anniversary. We’ve known each other since high school and have been married for almost half our lives. We were only nineteen when we got married, and joke that we finished raising each other. We almost did!

I showed Principesa our wedding album recently and she was in love with the big dress and all the flowers. She thought mommy looked pretty and thought it was funny that daddy still had hair. And when I look at that book and think about who we were then, and who we are now, I wouldn’t trade it for anything. We have had some pretty tough times, but we’ve always looked at life as an adventure together and managed to laugh even in the middle of hard places. We’ve also had great fun and some wonderful memories.

We have driven cars that could barely make it up the big hill (we used to pretend we were Flintstones pushing it up the last of the hill), we have frozen through winters because we couldn’t afford a big utility bill, and we have worked yucky jobs to help take care of each other. I remember how hard he made me laugh while he was drilling me on French vocab in college, and how tenderly he cared for me when I was recovering from a difficult birth with Princepesa. More recently I remember how difficult seminary was for both of us, and how some nights we just cried together. We have traveled a lot together, and have both grown into better people because of our time together. I am a better woman because my Beloved loves me and has encouraged me to grow in several areas.

Sixteen years isn’t really a milestone year, but for us, 2008 has definitely been a milestone year. We have set out on a new course in life, one that we didn’t see coming, and God has blessed us with so much joy in serving this church. We have a little fur ball living with us again, and are working on buying a house. If anyone had asked me a year ago where we’d be, this is not what I would have pictured. And yet I feel so honored to be by this man’s side, serving this congregation. And I can’t wait to see what happens in our next sixteen years together.

