I’m sure I’m not the only one who is often frustrated by my own failures. Sometimes I feel like there are certain things I just can’t get right. It’s almost embarrassing when I flip back through my prayer journal and see myself asking God for help in the same area over and over.

I was reading in Genesis tonight and came to the story of Abram and Sarai going into Egypt. Abram had the bright idea of telling everyone Sarai was his sister so… so, what? They wouldn’t take her away? Kill him to get her? I don’t know. Anyway, he justified it by saying it was partially true, since she was his half sister. Sarai, who didn’t even get the personal message from God, but just had to pack up and move across the world on the word of her husband.

And then my study notes said this:

The weaknesses of God’s children do not strain the strength of God.

Wow.

We are human. God made us and he knows that full well (Ps 103:14). What a comfort to a weak human to know that our being weak does not strain or surprise God.

For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but we have one who has been tempted in every way, just as we are – yet was without sin. Let us then approach the throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need. –Hebrews 4:15,16

Lord, I ask you once again. Have mercy on me, a sinner.

